About Aida


AIDA (fr. Association Internationale de Dialectologie Arabe) – International Association of Arabic Dialectology / الرابطة الدولية لدراسة اللهجات العربية – is an association of researchers in Arabic dialects, from all over the world.

AIDA was founded in 1993, in Paris, at the initiative of a group of prestigious Arabists, with the aim to encourage and promote the study of Arabic dialects.

AIDA is nowadays the leading international association in this field of research and it has become a center that joins scholars from all over the world who are interested in any aspect of Arabic dialectology, including dialects which have not been described yet, dialectal geography, specific aspects of phonology, morphology and syntax, code-switching, koiné language, pidgin, creole, the lexicon of Arabic dialects, dialectal atlases, comparative and diachronic studies, sociolinguistics, teaching of Arabic dialects, and so on.

AIDA organizes conferences every two years, hosted by well-known universities from all around the world. 

AIDA 11 was organized in Bucharest in 2015 . Its web site provides many valuable information about Aida members and Aida publication (http://aidabucharest2015.lls.unibuc.ro/).

Aida’s activities can also be followed on its facebook group at : https://www.facebook.com/groups/792649064183347/



First  Executive Board (1993-2004): 
Dominique Caubet (France) – president
Abderrahim Youssi (Morocco) – vice-president
Bruce Ingham (Great Britain) – vice-president
Manwel Mifsud (Malta) – secretary
► Peter Behnstedt (Germany) – vice-secretary

► Martine Vanhove (France) – treasurer

 Second Executive Board (2004-2015): 
► Stephan Procházka (Austria) – president
► Abderrahim Youssi (2004-2013) / Karima Ziamari (2013-2015) (Morocco) – vice-president
► Rudolf de Jong  (Netherlands)  – general secretary
► Ángeles Vicente  (Spain) – treasurer

 Current Executive Board of AIDA (May 28, 2015)
► George Grigore (University of Bucharest, Romania) – president 
► Karima Ziamari (Moulay Ismail University, Meknes, Morocco) – vice-president 
► Kristen Brustad (University of Texas at Austin, USA) – vice-president 
► Liesbeth Zack (University of Amsterdam, Netherlands) – general secretary 
► Veronika Ritt-Benmimoun (University of Vienna, Austria) – treasurer 






Online user: 1